Ondo Election: APC Set Up Machinery To Pick Deputy Gov

APC Logo

THE All Progressives Congress (APC) has set machinery in motion to pick a deputy governorship candidate for the party in Ondo State.

The seven-man committee, which members are daughter of the first civilian governor of the state, Mrs Jumoke Anifowose (chairman), Dr Tunji Abayomi, Honourable Victor Adekanye Olabimtan, Dr Ayo Akinyelure, Mr Bankole Oluwajana, Dr Shaba and Mr Wale Akinterinwa, is to screen prospective deputy governorship candidates for the party.

Speaking on the development, the governorship candidate of the party, Mr Rotimi Akeredolu, disclosed that a search party has been constituted for the deputy governorship slot.

Akeredolu said the committee would soon come out with its recommendations to the party.

He said that the party had not decided on the running mate for him as a lot of variables would be considered, including the qualification, value to be added to the ticket and the zone the person comes from.

AdvertisementMedium Rectangle Online Business MyeBookHub Ad

Akeredolu said: “on the issue of running mate, you wait for us and the party will decide. We can assure you that by the end of next week, we will conclude the issue of deputy governor.”

It was gathered that at least 16 persons, including Honourable Agboola Ajayi, have indicated their interest out of the 16 candidates, 13 are from the South while the rest are from the Central district.

Some of APC members who have shown interest in the slot included Honourable Sam Aderoboye, a former Deputy Speaker of the State House of Assembly, embattled Publicity Secretary of the APC, Omooba Abayomi Adesanya, Mr Lucky Ayedatiwa, the APC’s candidate for Ilaje/Eseodo Federal Constituency in the last general election and Mr Boye Adegbemisoye, a former Chairman of Ile-Oluji/Okeigbo Local Government and Commissioner for Public Utilities.

ALSO READ:  Operation Amotekun: Youth Crime Watch Lauds S/West Governors' Security Initiative

Also been considered are, Mr Ifedayo Abegunde, a former House of Representatives member representing Akure South and North Federal Constituency and Mr Ade Adetimehin, the Deputy Chairman of the party in the state.



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here