Bauchi Bye-Election: We’ll Amend Constitution To Make Buhari Life President – APC Candidate

President Buhari on state policing sgf
President Muhammadu Buhari
Buy ebooks on health & fitness leaderboard banner.jpg

THE candidate of the All Progressives Congress (APC) in Saturday’s Bauchi South Senatorial District bye-election, Lawal-Yahaya Gumau, said if elected into the Senate, he will work towards the amendment of the Constitution to make President Muhammadu Buhari president for life.

Gumau, while speaking at the closing of his campaign in Bauch on Thursday said his only mandate for aspiring to go to the Senate is to protect Buhari’s interest.

He is currently the member representing Toro Federal Constituency in the House of Representatives and in his eighth year, said

He said, “I, Lawal-Yahaya Gumau, want you to know that the mandate that will be given to me on Saturday is to go and protect Buhari’s interest in the Senate. This is the only mandate that I will be going to the Senate with, having fulfilled every other mandate to the best of my ability while in the House of Representatives for eight years.

“By God’s grace, we will amend Nigeria’s Constitution to allow Buhari to be President for the remaining years of his life. He will only cease to be President when God takes his life.

2016 Hot Business Ideas

“Obasanjo tried all his best for the constitution to be amended to allow him to go for a third term, but God didn’t approve of it because of its lack of sincerity. What is now needed in Nigeria is to protect Buhari’s interest and that is what we will do.”

Also speaking, the Chairman of the Nigeria Governors’ Forum and Governor of Zamfara State, Abdul’aziz Yari, who led three other governors to the campaign, said they were in the state on the mandate of the Acting President, Prof. Yemi Osinbajo, noting that it would be shameful for a candidate endorsed by Buhari to lose the election.

READ  Anenih Condemns Threat To Impeach Buhari

Apart from the host governor, Mohammed Abubabakar, the governors in the delegation were those of Plateau, Simon Lalong; Kebbi, Atiku Bagudu; and Jigawa, Badaru Abubabakar.



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here